Official website of the U.S. government

Skip to main content

Fish and Wildlife Service

Department of the Interior seal

Department of the Interior


The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS) is dedicated to the conservation of fish, wildlife and plants, and their habitats. It is the only agency in the Federal government whose primary responsibility is the conservation and management of these important natural resources for the American public. In addition to managing more than 600 wildlife refuges and fish hatcheries, FWS also provides law enforcement of wildlife and plant resources, oversees wildlife inspectors at major United States ports of entry ensure wildlife trade is legal and sustainable, and interdicts illegal wildlife and wildlife products.

Designated Services

Planning a trip to a national wildlife refuge or public fish hatchery using fws.gov


The U.S. Fish and Wildlife website (fws.gov) serves a diverse audience, including families, educators, wildlife enthusiasts, and adventurers planning trips to FWS’ more than 400 national wildlife refuges and nearly 70 national fish hatcheries open to the public. The fws.gov website offers a range of trip planning tools to ensure that the more than 68.5 million annual visits to FWS sites can be prepared for a safe and positive experience on these unique public lands dedicated to fish and wildlife conservation.

Action Plans