We’re transforming the way government serves the public

From small businesses seeking loans, to families receiving disaster support, to someone passing through an airport security line- every interaction between the Federal government and the public is an opportunity to demonstrate the government understands and is meeting their needs. For an individual, this can mean less time in a government office, on the phone with a help desk, or more digestible information to support a decision. Collectively, throughout a lifetime of interacting with different agencies, these moments are powerful opportunities to show citizens their government works. Improving the public’s trust in government happens transaction by transaction, and we must act to improve every one that we can.

US CX Logo

High Impact Service Providers (HISPs)

We’re working with 35 of the nation’s highest impact service providers (HISPs), identified due to the scale and impact of their public-facing services, to raise the standard of experience across government.

These service providers are subject to OMB Circular A-11 Section 280 activities including an annual enterprise-wide CX capacity assessment and action plan, focused improvement efforts for designated services, customer feedback collections and public reporting.

Click on the agencies below to learn more about their High Impact Service Providers’ critical work and customer experience performance.

What are HISPs doing to improve CX?

education service icon

Federal Student Aid

StudentAid.gov provides a one-stop-shop for Federal student aid needs. A single front door with an improved interface provides resources previously housed on 3 separate websites. New features this past year like aid summary, loan simulator and the make a payment pilot address previous customer pain points. A virtual assistant driven by conversational AI is also available to answer hundreds of questions and provide user support.

recreation service icon


Red Rocks transitioned to Recreation.gov online reservation system allowing visitors to make reservations in advance through their Recreation.gov account. Securing reservations in advance provides assurance that a campsite will be available when the visitor arrives. Site managers and hosts are easily able to verify visitor identification and run reports to determine vacancies. The local managers also reported a 31 percent increase in year-over-year revenue within a few months.

IRS service icon

Internal Revenue Service

IRS launched a Tax Withholding Estimator, an expanded, mobile-friendly online tool designed to make it easier for everyone to have the right amount of tax withheld during the year. The new Tax Withholding Estimator offers a more user-friendly step-by-step tool for effectively tailoring the amount of income tax they have withheld. In a year, the completion rate on mobile devices grew to 43% in compared to 27% and the overall completion rate jumped from 43% to 54%.

Citizenship and immigration services icon

US Citizenship and Immigration Services

The Information Services Modernization (InfoMod) initiative transitioned field office inquiries to the USCIS Contact Center. Instead of self-scheduling an in-person appointment, the applicant or petitioner can now contact the USCIS Contact Center for real-time resolution, reserving field office appointments for inquiries that could not be resolved. This provided a convenient channel for resolving inquiries, ensuring those who required an appointment were able to get one and improved the timeliness of emergency services.

Housing and urban development services icon

Department of Housing and Urban Development

After the Puerto Rico earthquake on December 28, 2019, 402 public housing families were displaced from their residences. HUD’s local Field Office Director and staff worked with Public Housing Agency to expedite the Demolition/Disposition Application process to provide displaced families with Tenant Protection Vouchers, enabling these families to be permanently rehoused.

USDA logo

U.S. Department of Agriculture

Spurred on by the change in working conditions due to the Coronavirus pandemic, office divisions in the U.S. Department of Agriculture worked together to secure technology and develop instructions for electronic signature capabilities. The software has been overwhelmingly positive with many field office employees stating the new technology is a game-changer for their customers.

Customer Feedback on Federal Service Performance

24 of 35
designated Service Providers collecting feedback

* 10 new High Impact Service Providers will begin reporting by FY23 Q1

314,209,196 service interactions with the American public

1,187,765 total responses

Responses by agency


Responses by channel


How we’re doing

Seven indicators for measuring customer experience

OMB Circular A-11 Section 280 requires High Impact Service Providers to collect post-transaction feedback from customers, with the hope of better understanding the factors that drive satisfaction with services and trust in our organizations to serve the American public. Below is an aggregate score of how our services performed last quarter across 7 indicator measures of experience.









Employee helpfulness


up since last quarter
down since last quarter

Download data:
Service Providers - A list of High Impact Service Providers (HISPs).
Services - A list of Services. Each HISP has one or more Services.
Data Collections - HISPs are required to report their customer feedback for each service quarterly; this file includes one record for each quarterly report
Data Collection Report Details - This file includes one or more Report Detail records per Data Collection